Story 2 – Acne Storyboards

storyboard1I used to call my older sister pizza face when I was younger. Little did I know I would soon be the newest addition to the pizza face gang. I started having a few spots when I was 13. Then it just all came at once. By the time I was 15 I had hard painful spots all over my face and back. The doctor called it cystic acne and prescribed me medication. Something simple like washing my face was painful so when I used the medicated solution on my face the pain was something shocking.

storyboard2

Even when I was on tablets to get rid of it they were still there lurking away. Going to school was horrible. I would get up early to slap on heavy foundation and concealer to try and cover it. Most of the time it just made it more obvious but I felt comfortable with it on. It was my mask that I wore so no one could see my imperfections. I feared that I would get bullied because of my acne so covering it was the only option for me. People would say to me, “you need to wash your face more” and “it’s because you eat sweets”. And I am there trying to hold back the urge to scream at them “It doesn’t work that way!”

storyboard3

When I was in Transition Year we put on a musical and therewas a make up artist hired to do our make up. She took my make up off to reapply more and I remember the looks and giggles when my classmates saw my red bumpy skin. I felt so insecure and embarrassed. Even though they probably knew I had bad acne before this I felt like I had let myself down by taking of my mask.

Eventually the medication started to work and the pain of the acne went away. It comes back every now and then but I don’t mind because it will never be as bad as it was. I still put on my make up before I see my parents in the morning just so they won’t comment on how bad my skin looks.

Leave a Reply

